We had the good fortune of connecting with Pablo Arriola and we’ve shared our conversation below.

Hi Pablo, other than deciding to work for yourself, what else do you think played a pivotal role in your story?
Since I was a little boy in Buenos Aires, Argentina, I wanted to become an attorney and work for myself. I opened my first “business” when I was 16, delivering packages with my motorcycle. That didn’t last long (1 delivery), but it cemented the idea that I wanted to work for myself. At 18, I partnered (helped) my mother with her small transportation company and worked with her part-time, while I was working selling products on the street. I came to the US in December 1998, at the age of 21. While looking for opportunities, I worked many different jobs including painting homes and doing pressure cleaning (roofs and walls), customer service at a credit card company, and customer service at a cellular phone carrier. In 2004, I opened my own retail store as an authorized dealer for a phone carrier. I was also an independent life insurance agent and real estate agent. In 2010, after the financial crisis settled, I found myself heading up for an ugly divorce, broke, and with three wonderful kids, Andrea, Diego, and Matias. The future did not look promising and I didn’t want to go back into the same wheel and to the “rinse and repeat” process of businesses. I didn’t feel defeated, but frustrated. All this background to get to the point where I actually answer the question with context. I wanted to find a career that no economy or external factors (compensation changes) would affect my business, where I can focus on my personal growth and where I could always rely on. I, at the age of 35, was considering going back to school. Shortly after my separation, I met Analia, who is now my wife and the mother of my fourth child, Sebastian. Analia convinced me and supported my idea of going back to school. Not just school, but since I was dealing with my own family case, I decided to law school and become an attorney. Becoming an attorney was not a quick decision, I had 7 school years ahead of me and again, I was 35, had 3 (soon 4) small children and needed to work while going to school.

What should our readers know about your business?
I’ve been in the legal industry since 2012, when I was first offered an opportunity to work as a paralegal with a solo-practitioner. Since then, I had the honor and privilege of working with amazing professionals who had mentored me and taught me what I know. Today, in my law firm Doudnik Arriola PLLC, I represent homeowners and associations (Condominiums and HOA) in legal matters and disputes and I practice real estate and family law.

Any places to eat or things to do that you can share with our readers? If they have a friend visiting town, what are some spots they could take them to?
I am not a good tour guide. I love small groups at someone’s home having a private good time. However, we are in Miami. Beach, malls, nightlife in south beach, all kinds of foods and restaurants from any country, national reserves, jumping off airplanes, water sports, fishing, etc. There are activities and places for everyone!

Shoutout is all about shouting out others who you feel deserve additional recognition and exposure. Who would you like to shoutout?
I would not have been able to be where I am if it wasn’t for the unconditional love and support from my wife, Analia Queirolo; my most beautiful creation: my kids, Andrea, Diego, Matias, and Sebastian Arriola; my mother, Susana Malcervelli, my mother-in-law Marta Colsani, and the many mentors that I met along the way, Gioia DeCarlo, Many Crespo, Russell Jacobs, Herman Russomanno, and awesome professors at Miami-Dade College, FIU, and Saint Thomas school of law, which in one way or another had influenced me.

Website: dalawpllc.com
Linkedin: Pablo A. Arriola

Nominate Someone: ShoutoutMiami is built on recommendations and shoutouts from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you or someone you know deserves recognition please let us know here.